2022 UK Open: Draw & Schedule confirmed!

Raymond van Barneveld will face William Borland in his Cazoo UK Open opener on Friday, after the draw and stage allocations for the opening session of this weekend’s Minehead event were confirmed on Monday afternoon.

Two-time UK Open champion Van Barneveld, who claimed back-to-back successes in 2006 and 2007, will begin his campaign in round three against Scottish star Borland, who famously landed a nine-dart finish at the recent World Championship.

This tie is one of nine matches scheduled to take place on the Main Stage at Butlin’s Minehead Resort in Friday afternoon’s session, with 2014 winner Adrian Lewis and former BDO world champion Jelle Klaasen also set to headline proceedings.

The unique multi-board event, featuring 158 players, begins from 11am on Friday, with the first three rounds taking place across a blockbuster afternoon session.

The first round comprises the Tour Card Holders ranked 97-126, along with players from the 2021 Challenge and Development Tours as well as 16 Rileys Amateur Qualifiers.

The first round winners will be joined by Tour Card Holders ranked 65-96 in round two, with the 32 second round winners joined by Tour Card Holders ranked 33-64 in round three.

2016 semi-finalist Klaasen relinquished his PDC Tour Card in January, only to come through the Rileys Qualifier in Coventry, and the Dutchman kicks off this year’s showpiece against fellow amateur Mark Rice, before 2020 World Youth champion Bradley Brooks plays World Cup finalist Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Emerging Welshman Lewy Williams takes on German No 2 Martin Schindler in an eye-catching round two showdown, with World Cup winner John Henderson and talented prospects Keane Barry and Connor Scutt also among the players entering the competition at the second round stage.

Two-time world champion Lewis will round off the afternoon’s main stage action, with his third round opponent to be one of four players who have to battle through the early rounds.

While the Main Stage action begins at 11:45am, Friday’s play begins at 11:00am across Stages Two-Eight, with Kim Huybrechts and former BDO world champions Scott Waites, Scott Mitchell and Richie Burnett all headlining the outer boards.

The world’s top 32 enter the fray in Friday evening’s fourth round, with reigning champion James Wade aiming to retain his crown, while Gerwyn Price bids to preserve his world No 1 status.

Former UK Open champions Peter Wright, Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson and Nathan Aspinall will also feature, alongside the Premier League trio of Jonny Clayton, Michael Smith and Joe Cullen.

An open draw will be made live on the Main Stage at the conclusion of the third round, with further draws to be made following each subsequent round, hence the tournament being dubbed ‘The FA Cup of Darts’.

However, Boris Koltsov and Michael Unterbuchner will be absent from this year’s festivities. Koltsov withdrew after the draw had been made, therefore his second round opponent Brian Raman receives a bye to round three, while Scott Waites receives a first round bye due to Unterbuchner’s withdrawal.

Image Credit: Sporting Life

2022 Cazoo UK Open
Schedule of Play
Friday March 4
Afternoon Session (1145-1700 GMT live on ITV4, 1100 GMT start on Stages 2-8)
First, Second & Third Rounds

Bradley Brooks v Rowby-John Rodriguez (R1)
Jelle Klaasen v Mark Rice (R1)
David Evans v Keane Barry (R2)
Lewy Williams v Martin Schindler (R2)
Connor Scutt v Vandenbogaerde/Van Dongen (R2)
Wilson/Wilkinson v John Henderson (R2)
Florian Hempel v Good/Kay/Warner/Wenig (R3)
Raymond van Barneveld v William Borland (R3)
Adrian Lewis v Andersen/Clayson/Leung/Schmutzler (R3)

Stage Two
Kai Fan Leung v Fabian Schmutzler (R1)
Matt Campbell v Sebastian Bialecki (R1)
Mario Vandenbogaerde v Jules van Dongen (R1)
Danny Lauby v Niko Springer (R1)
Jon Worsley v Niels Zonneveld (R2)
John Michael v Danny Baggish (R2)
Evetts/Fullwell v Jack Main (R2)
Brooks/Rowby-John Rodriguez v Gordon Mathers (R2)
Madars Razma v Jamie Hughes (R3)
Kciuk/Claydon v Ross Smith (R3)
L Williams/Schindler v Jeff Smith (R3)
Kim Huybrechts v Peters/Marsh/De Vos (R3)

Stage Three
Ted Evetts v Nick Fullwell (R1)
Ryan Harrington v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R1)
Richie Burnett v Tony Martinez (R1)
Darren Webster v Jose Justicia (R1)
Martin Thomas v Kenny Neyens (R1)
Berry van Peer v Kevin Doets (R2)
Burness/Hall v Andrew Gilding (R2)
Peter Hudson v O’Shea/Rafferty (R2)
J Williams/Murray v Van der Velde/Mansell (R2)
Max Hopp v Ritchie Edhouse (R3)
McDonald/Clark/Lukeman v Adam Hunt (R3)
Jason Lowe v Klaasen/Rice/Menzies (R3)
Andy Boulton v Hogan/Taylor/Lauby/Springer (R3)

Stage Four
George Killington v Reece Robinson (R1)
Dan Read v Diogo Portela (R1)
Josh Rock v Damian Mol (R1)
James Wilson v Shaun Wilkinson (R1)
Good/Kay v Warner/Wenig (R2)
Klaasen/Rice v Cameron Menzies (R2)
Burnett/Martinez v Harrington/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R2)
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Evans/Barry (R3)
Steve Beaton v Burness/Hall/Gilding (R3)
Hudson/O’Shea/Rafferty v Maik Kuivenhoven (R3)
Webster/Justicia/Lovely v Gawlas/Killington/Robinson (R3)
Jermaine Wattimena v Montgomery/Colley/Read/Portela (R3)

Stage Five
Matt Good v Keelan Kay (R1)
Jim Williams v Ryan Murray (R1)
John O’Shea v Nathan Rafferty (R1)
Jurjen van der Velde v Mickey Mansell (R1)
Geert Nentjes v Jake Jones (R2)
Plaisier/Szaganski v Scott Waites (R2)
Webster/Justicia v Eddie Lovely (R2)
Hogan/Taylor v Lauby/Springer (R2)
Keegan Brown v Campbell/Bialecki/Murnan (R3)
Steve West v Brown/Rock/Mol (R3)
Steve Lennon v Burnett/Martinez/Harrington/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R3)
Van Peer/Doets v Worsley/Zonneveld (R3)

Stage Six
Ricardo Pietreczko v Scott Taylor (R1)
Vladimir Andersen v Steve Clayson (R1)
Paul Hogan v Dom Taylor (R1)
Prakash Jiwa v Toni Alcinas (R1)
Krzysztof Kciuk v Brett Claydon (R2)
McDonald/Clark v Martin Lukeman (R2)
Scott Mitchell v Jansen/Meek (R2)
Peters/Marsh v Geert De Vos (R2)
Ron Meulenkamp v Michael/Baggish (R3)
Mitchell/Jansen/Meek v Ricky Evans (R3)
Darius Labanauskas v Wilson/Wilkinson/Henderson (R3)
J Williams/Murray/Van der Velde/Mansell v Alan Soutar (R3)

Stage Seven
Darren Beveridge v Jimmy Hendriks (R1)
Wesley Plaisier v Radek Szaganski (R1)
Ross Montgomery v Reece Colley (R1)
Danny Jansen v Liam Meek (R1)
Pietreczko/Taylor v Zoran Lerchbacher (R2)
Campbell/Bialecki v Joe Murnan (R2)
John Brown v Rock/Mol (R2)
Andersen/Clayson v Leung/Schmutzler (R2)
Ryan Joyce v Mike De Decker (R3)
Luke Woodhouse v Evetts/Fullwell/Main (R3)
Martijn Kleermaker v Jiwa/Alcinas/Heaver (R3)
Nentjes/Jones v Thomas/Neyens/Beveridge/Hendriks (R3)

Stage Eight
Adam Warner v Lukas Wenig (R1)
Shaun McDonald v Jamie Clark (R1)
Kevin Burness v Graham Hall (R1)
Luc Peters v Paul Marsh (R1)
Adam Gawlas v Killington/Robinson (R2)
Montgomery/Colley v Read/Portela (R2)
Jiwa/Alcinas v Jason Heaver (R2)
Thomas/Neyens v Beveridge/Hendriks (R2)
Boris Krcmar v Pietreczko/Taylor/Lerchbacher (R3)
Scutt/Vandenbogaerde/Van Dongen v William O’Connor (R3)
Brooks/Rowby-John Rodriguez/Mathers v Ryan Meikle (R3)
Brian Raman v Plaisier/Szaganski/Waites (R3)

Evening Session (1900-2300 GMT)
Fourth Round

Play across eight stages

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: