Wade: “You keep blowing smoke up everyone else’s backside and I’ll keep doing what I’m doing.”

James Wade issued a defiant message to the darting media after landing a sensational nine-dart finish to continue his bid for a fourth UK Open crown on Saturday night.

‘The Machine’ has been in impressive form throughout the weekend, and he underlined his title credentials by registering his fourth televised nine-darter en route to a 10-8 victory over Croatia’s Boris Krcmar in Minehead.

The reigning champion opened up his campaign with a 10-6 success against Steve Lennon, defying a 105.58 average from the Irishman to prevail with a 104 average.

Wade then stormed past Ron Meulenkamp on Saturday afternoon, before edging out Krcmar in a dramatic last 16 tussle, despite a significant disparity in the averages.

This lifts the left-hander above Michael van Gerwen on the PDC Order of Merit following the Dutchman’s 10-4 defeat to Damon Heta in round five, although Wade is refusing to get carried away.

Despite scooping ten televised titles in a glittering career, the 38-year-old arguably doesn’t receive the credit he deserves, yet he is unperturbed by his counterparts dominating the headlines.

In his post-match interview with ITV, Wade claimed: “I’m doing alright. You keep blowing smoke up everyone else’s arses and I’ll keep doing what I’m doing.”

The world No 3 will take on emerging Irishman Keane Barry in Sunday’s opening quarter-final, after ‘Dynamite’ followed up a deciding-leg win over Niels Zonneveld with victory over Ricky Evans, to secure a place in his first televised PDC quarter-final.

World No 1 Gerwyn Price remains on course to lift his first UK Open crown on Sunday, despite surviving a major scare in his fifth round clash against Jamie Hughes.

‘The Iceman’ edged out Hughes in a last-leg thriller to advance to the last 16, where he recorded a statement 10-3 win over Callan Rydz, averaging 106.66 in the process.

The Welshman will take on World Championship runner-up Michael Smith for a place in the semi-finals, with Smith also achieving perfection on a remarkable night of action at the Butlin’s Resort.

‘Bully Boy’ battled past Rob Cross’ conqueror Gabriel Clemens in round five, before prevailing in a deciding-leg shootout against Mensur Suljovic, having fired in the nine-darter in the seventh leg of his encounter against the Austrian.

Two of the tournament’s surprise packages will collide in the last eight, as Poland’s Development Tour star Sebastian Bialecki meets former World Cup finalist William O’Connor.

Bialecki has registered six victories over the weekend to become just the third non Tour Card holder in UK Open history to make the quarter-finals, courtesy of wins over Ian White and Ryan Searle on Saturday.

Meanwhile, O’Connor dumped out world champion Peter Wright in a high-quality affair, defying a 100.59 average from ‘Snakebite’ to complete a 10-7 success, having earlier accounted for Stephen Bunting in a 19-leg thriller.

Elsewhere, Damon Heta secured two of the biggest victories of his career to become the Australian No 1 for the first time in his career.

‘The Heat’ lived up to his name to dispatch three-time winner Van Gerwen 10-4 with a 102 average in round five, before claiming the scalp of Premier League champion Jonny Clayton just hours later.

Heta’s reward is a last eight showdown against Danny Noppert, who survived a late rally from Devon Petersen in round five, only to dismantle his fellow Dutchman Dirk Van Duijvenbode 10-2 in the sixth round.

Image Credit: Taylor Lanning/PDC

2022 Cazoo UK Open
Schedule of Play

Saturday March 5
Afternoon Session
Fifth Round
Main Stage

Ryan Searle 10-8 Dimitri van den Bergh
Damon Heta 10-4 Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright 10-5 Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price 10-9 Jamie Hughes
Stage Two
Danny Noppert 10-8 Devon Petersen
Michael Smith 10-8 Gabriel Clemens
Jonny Clayton 10-1 Jose de Sousa
James Wade 10-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Stage Three
Boris Krcmar 10-4 Dave Chisnall
Dirk van Duijvenbode 10-4 Martin Schindler
Keane Barry 10-9 Niels Zonneveld
Callan Rydz 10-2 Vincent van der Voort
Stage Four
Ricky Evans 10-8 Scott Waites
Mensur Suljovic 10-8 Geert Nentjes
Sebastian Bialecki 10-9 Ian White
William O’Connor 10-9 Stephen Bunting

Evening Session
Sixth Round
Main Stage

Danny Noppert 10-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
James Wade 10-8 Boris Krcmar – Wade hits nine-darter in leg eight
William O’Connor 10-7 Peter Wright
Gerwyn Price 10-3 Callan Rydz
Stage Two

Keane Barry 10-5 Ricky Evans
Sebastian Bialecki 10-6 Ryan Searle
Michael Smith 10-9 Mensur Suljovic – Smith hits nine-darter in leg seven
Damon Heta 10-8 Jonny Clayton

Sunday March 6
Afternoon Session (1245-1700 GMT)

Keane Barry v James Wade
Sebastian Bialecki v William O’Connor
Danny Noppert v Damon Heta
Michael Smith v Gerwyn Price

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: