Peter Wright becomes new world number one; Michael van Gerwen slips to fifth

Peter Wright has moved to world number one on the PDC Order of Merit for the first time in his career following the conclusion of the 2022 UK Open.

The reigning world champion succumbed to William O’Connor in the last 16 at Minehead, yet with Gerwyn Price defending £40,000 in prize money at this year’s showpiece, the Welshman needed to reach the final to preserve his world No 1 status.

Price succumbed to eventual finalist Michael Smith in a thrilling quarter-final clash, which ended The Iceman’s 14-month reign at the summit, enabling Wright to become the 11th world No 1 in PDC history.

‘Snakebite’ is the first Scotsman to achieve that particular accolade, and he emulates Alan Warriner-Little, Dennis Priestley, Rod Harrington, Phil Taylor, Peter Manley, John Part, Colin Lloyd, Raymond van Barneveld, Michael van Gerwen and Price in ruling the darting world.

World Championship runner-up Smith was left heartbroken after losing a seventh individual televised final, although ‘Bully Boy’ moves up to fourth on the Order of Merit, leapfrogging Van Gerwen who has dropped to fifth – his lowest ranking since January 2013.

Danny Noppert’s first televised ranking title moves him up to a career-high of 12th. ‘The Freeze’ became the fourth Dutchman to lift the UK Open title following his 11-10 success against Smith, and the £100,000 winner’s prize has catapulted him seven places from 19th.

It was also a groundbreaking weekend for Damon Heta, who is now the top-ranked Australian on the tour – moving ahead of Simon Whitlock into 23rd place. ‘The Heat’ defeated Van Gerwen and Jonny Clayton to reach the quarter-finals, before exiting at the hands of eventual champion Noppert.

Elsewhere, Ireland’s teenage sensation Keane Barry has moved up 14 places to a career-high 54th, after scooping £20,000 courtesy of his run to the semi-finals. ‘Dynamite’ dumped out defending champion James Wade in the last eight and raced into a 6-2 lead against Smith, only for ‘Bully Boy’ to rally superbly.

Barry was joined in the last four by his compatriot O’Connor, who recorded victories over Stephen Bunting and Wright to feature in his first televised semi-final, and his exploits at Minehead have taken him to the cusp of a place in the world’s top 32.

Image Credit: Steven Paston/PDC

PositionNameTotal Prize Money
1Peter Wright£1,190,250
2Gerwyn Price£1,169,000
3James Wade£571,000
4Michael Smith£569,750
5Michael van Gerwen£550,250
6Gary Anderson£472,500
7Jose de Sousa£435,500
8Jonny Clayton£411,750
9Dimitri Van den Bergh£411,250
10Rob Cross£347,000
11Joe Cullen£336,500
12Danny Noppert£325,500
13Krzysztof Ratajski£297,000
14Dave Chisnall£294,250
15Dirk van Duijvenbode£268,250
16Ryan Searle£262,750
17Nathan Aspinall£260,500
18Mervyn King£238,250
19Luke Humphries£238,000
20Stephen Bunting£220,750
21Gabriel Clemens£206,750
22Daryl Gurney£204,500
23Damon Heta£202,000
24Simon Whitlock£199,250
25Brendan Dolan£198,500
26Devon Petersen£194,000
27Ian White£190,500
28Mensur Suljovic£185,750
29Callan Rydz£182,250
30Vincent van der Voort£180,000
31Glen Durrant£160,500
32Chris Dobey£150,250
33Ross Smith£140,250
34William O’Connor£127,500
35Ryan Joyce£126,750
36Kim Huybrechts£126,500
37Jermaine Wattimena£115,750
38Ricky Evans£106,000
39Martijn Kleermaker£101,500
40Adrian Lewis£100,000
41Jamie Hughes£96,250
42Adam Hunt£86,000
43Darius Labanauskas£84,500
44Steve Lennon£80,250
45Jason Lowe£78,000
46Madars Razma£75,250
47Jeffrey de Zwaan£75,250
48Luke Woodhouse£73,000
49Alan Soutar£71,500
50Maik Kuivenhoven£68,250
51Ron Meulenkamp£68,000
52Keane Barry£67,250
53Boris Krcmar£62,000
54Steve Beaton£61,750
55Ryan Meikle£58,000
56Raymond van Barneveld£58,000
57Andy Boulton£57,500
58William Borland£56,250
59Jeff Smith£55,500
60Steve West£54,250
61Keegan Brown£54,000
62Florian Hempel£53,500
63Martin Schindler£53,000
64Ritchie Edhouse£52,000

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: