2016 Unibet European Championship Draw!


Michael van Gerwen will begin the defence of his Unibet European Championship title against a rejuvenated Simon Whitlock, whilst James Wade will take on world champion Gary Anderson in the pick of the first-round clashes when the tournament begins at the Ethias Arena, Hasselt, on October 28th.

Van Gerwen has won the European Championship title for the last two years, winning last year’s event in a thrilling last-leg decider against Gary Anderson. MvG is the number one seed in this year’s remodelled event in Belgium, where the field is based solely on performances across the ten PDC European Tour events held in 2016.

‘The Green Machine’ is the number one seed for this year’s event having won six of the ten European Tour events hosted this year. However, he faces a tough test in the shape of 2012 European Championship winner Simon Whitlock, who defeated Van Gerwen en route to winning Players Championship 18 in Dublin last month.

Eight-time major winner James Wade has drawn world champion Gary Anderson in an enthralling first-round tie. ‘The Machine’ is seeded fourth for this year’s event having won the European Darts Matchplay in July, but he’s had the misfortune of drawing the Scot- who has participated sporadically on the European Tour this year.

Phil Taylor has been pitted against Alan Norris, who is seeded seventh following his triumph at the German Darts Championship on Sunday. Taylor, a four-time European Champion, claimed victory in his solitary European Tour appearance at the Austrian Darts Open, but will face a tough test against an in-form ‘Chuck’. Continue reading “2016 Unibet European Championship Draw!”

Powered by

Up ↑