Van Gerwen dismantles Taylor to claim Premier League glory!

MvG Taylor.jpg
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Michael van Gerwen dismantled Phil Taylor to win his second Premier League crown on Thursday night at the O2 Arena. ‘The Green Machine’ averaged 104.68 as he thrashed Taylor 11-3 in the final, to scoop the £200,000 winner’s cheque.

Taylor led 2-1, but he was unable to match Van Gerwen’s relentless consistency, with the Dutchman winning ten of the last eleven legs to seal victory. Taylor averaged 98, but could only convert 30% of his attempts at double.

Taylor started strongly however, holding throw in 13-darts on D12. Nevertheless, MvG delivered an instant riposte by virtue of a majestic 121 checkout (Bull, T13, D16).

Michael missed one dart at D19 for a 112 checkout as the 55-year-old regained the initiative with a 51 checkout, but ‘Mighty Mike’ drew level once more on D20. The Dutchman then claimed a precious break of throw with a 60 checkout, before a dramatic sixth leg ensued.

Taylor missed three clear darts at D16 for an instant break-back, and MvG pinned that very double with his last-dart to double his lead. This proved to be a turning point, as Van Gerwen posted a maximum and hit D8 for 5-2, before winning his fifth straight leg via D20.

Continue reading “Van Gerwen dismantles Taylor to claim Premier League glory!”

Gary Anderson is The 2015 Premier League Champion!

Anderson PL Champ
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

What an unbelievable night of Darts at the O2 Arena in London, as Dave Chisnall, Gary Anderson, Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld fought it out for the right to be named 2015 Premier League Champion.

It was the current World Champion Gary Anderson who added this title to his ever-growing collection, by beating Michael van Gerwen 11-7 in a thrilling climax. I was privileged to be in the arena to witness four of the best dartists in the world produce three pulsating matches. Whilst Anderson will deservedly take the plaudits for a fantastic victory; darts was the real winner last night.

Continue reading “Gary Anderson is The 2015 Premier League Champion!”

Powered by

Up ↑