De Sousa makes history as he scoops back-to-back titles

Jose de Sousa created history as he made it back-to-back PDC titles with victory at Players Championship 15 in Milton Keynes on Wednesday, defeating Ryan Searle 8-7 in a pulsating final at the Marshall Arena.

Continue reading “De Sousa makes history as he scoops back-to-back titles”

2017 Unibet Masters: Finals Day Report!


Newly crowned world champion Michael van Gerwen secured his third successive Unibet Masters title with a stunning 11-7 victory over world number two Gary Anderson in a thrilling final at the Arena MK in Milton Keynes on Sunday evening.

‘Mighty Mike’ was in blistering form; averaging 109.42, landing nine maximums and converting 58% of his double attempts to secure his Masters hat-trick. Anderson averaged 103.58 and fired in five maximums himself, but it wasn’t enough to overcome the irrepressible ‘Green Machine’.

Van Gerwen made a storming start to the contest. He kicked off the final with a stunning visit of 177, before pegging an effortless 107 outshot to hold throw. He then doubled his advantage moments later; following up two maximums with a 12-dart break of throw.

Anderson opened his account with a 14-darter to break back, but MvG responded superbly. The Scot wired the bull for a 167 kill to level the contest, before Van Gerwen converted a two-dart 96 finish for an 11-darter to regain his cushion. The Dutchman then continued his clinical finishing to take out 87 and establish a 4-1 lead at the first break. Continue reading “2017 Unibet Masters: Finals Day Report!”

2017 Unibet Masters: Draw & Schedule!

MvG Whitlock.jpg

Newly crowned world champion Michael van Gerwen will begin the defence of his Unibet Masters title against two-time world finalist Simon Whitlock, when the first major TV event on the 2017 PDC calendar gets underway at the Arena MK in Milton Keynes on Friday evening.

The fifth staging of the Unibet Masters will see the world’s top 16 players face off, with all the action being broadcast exclusively on ITV4 from January 27th- 29th. The prize money for this event totals £200,000, with £60,000 on offer to the winner.

Phil Taylor, who won the inaugural staging of this event back in 2013, will feature on the opening night of action in an enthralling tie against eleventh seed Michael Smith. Meanwhile, two-time world champion Gary Anderson takes on Benito van de Pas in a repeat of their pulsating last 16 clash at the recent William Hill World Championship.

Elsewhere, 2016 finalist Dave Chisnall locks horns with 2015 finalist and five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld in the opening match of the tournament, whilst the night concludes with a clash between third seed Peter Wright and Stoke star Ian White. Continue reading “2017 Unibet Masters: Draw & Schedule!”

Powered by

Up ↑