2017 Premier League Darts: Finals Night Report!

Van Gerwen Wright 2017 PL.jpg

Michael van Gerwen survived an incredible six match darts as he edged out Peter Wright to retain his Premier League title in an absolutely absorbing final. Snakebite stormed into a 7-2 advantage, but Van Gerwen fought back supremely to seal a dramatic victory in a nail-biting deciding leg, to seal the third Premier League triumph of his career at the O2 Arena on Thursday evening. Continue reading “2017 Premier League Darts: Finals Night Report!”

Van Gerwen dismantles Taylor to claim Premier League glory!

MvG Taylor.jpg
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Michael van Gerwen dismantled Phil Taylor to win his second Premier League crown on Thursday night at the O2 Arena. ‘The Green Machine’ averaged 104.68 as he thrashed Taylor 11-3 in the final, to scoop the £200,000 winner’s cheque.

Taylor led 2-1, but he was unable to match Van Gerwen’s relentless consistency, with the Dutchman winning ten of the last eleven legs to seal victory. Taylor averaged 98, but could only convert 30% of his attempts at double.

Taylor started strongly however, holding throw in 13-darts on D12. Nevertheless, MvG delivered an instant riposte by virtue of a majestic 121 checkout (Bull, T13, D16).

Michael missed one dart at D19 for a 112 checkout as the 55-year-old regained the initiative with a 51 checkout, but ‘Mighty Mike’ drew level once more on D20. The Dutchman then claimed a precious break of throw with a 60 checkout, before a dramatic sixth leg ensued.

Taylor missed three clear darts at D16 for an instant break-back, and MvG pinned that very double with his last-dart to double his lead. This proved to be a turning point, as Van Gerwen posted a maximum and hit D8 for 5-2, before winning his fifth straight leg via D20.

Continue reading “Van Gerwen dismantles Taylor to claim Premier League glory!”

Premier League Darts- Finals Night Preview!

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The top-four players in world darts collide as the Premier League heads to London’s O2 Arena for finals night on Thursday May 19th. For the first time in Premier League history, the top ten players on the PDC Order of Merit were selected for the event, and it’s rather fitting that the four semi-finalists all comprise the top four in the world rankings.

World number one Michael van Gerwen takes on Adrian Lewis in the first semi-final, whilst six-time Premier League champion Phil Taylor meets reigning champion Gary Anderson in the other semi-final clash. It’s set to be an explosive night of action in the capital!

Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis

For the fourth year in succession, Michael van Gerwen topped the league phase after edging out Phil Taylor 7-5 in Rotterdam. Taylor and MvG have been involved in a thrilling rivalry throughout this campaign, but the Dutchman has secured the psychological edge by clinching top spot.

Adrian Lewis confirmed his play-off spot with a thumping 7-2 win over Gary Anderson last week. Neither player was anywhere near their best, but that performance typified Lewis’ campaign. He produced the key shots at the right moments, which he must also do against ‘The Green Machine’ on Thursday.

Continue reading “Premier League Darts- Finals Night Preview!”

Gary Anderson is The 2015 Premier League Champion!

Anderson PL Champ
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

What an unbelievable night of Darts at the O2 Arena in London, as Dave Chisnall, Gary Anderson, Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld fought it out for the right to be named 2015 Premier League Champion.

It was the current World Champion Gary Anderson who added this title to his ever-growing collection, by beating Michael van Gerwen 11-7 in a thrilling climax. I was privileged to be in the arena to witness four of the best dartists in the world produce three pulsating matches. Whilst Anderson will deservedly take the plaudits for a fantastic victory; darts was the real winner last night.

Continue reading “Gary Anderson is The 2015 Premier League Champion!”

MvG Clinches Top Spot to Set Up Dutch Derby With RvB!

Darts - Betway Premier League Darts 2014 Play-Offs - The O2 Arena, London - 22/5/14 Raymond van Barneveld celebrates winning Premier League as Michael van Gerwen looks on Mandatory Credit: Action Images / Steven Paston Livepic EDITORIAL USE ONLY., HOLLAND ONLY
Will van Barneveld successfully defend his title at the O2? Action Images / Steven Paston

Michael van Gerwen and Dave Chisnall played out a pulsating draw in the final match of the Premier League phase in Brighton, meaning van Gerwen has now finished top in the last three years of the Premier League. The 25-year old will now meet his compatriot Raymond van Barneveld in a repeat of last year’s final, which van Barneveld won 10-6.

The 5-time World Champion ended his league campaign in fine style, beating Stephen Bunting 7-4 with an 102 average. The other semi-final will be contested between Chisnall and World Champion Gary Anderson, who clinched top spot with a comprehensive 7-3 triumph over a slightly erratic Adrian Lewis.

Continue reading “MvG Clinches Top Spot to Set Up Dutch Derby With RvB!”

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑