2017 Perth Darts Masters: Finals Day Report!

Anderson Van Barneveld Perth

Gary Anderson clinched his fifth World Series of Darts title with an 11-7 victory over Raymond van Barneveld in a thrilling final at the Perth Darts Masters on Sunday evening.  Continue reading “2017 Perth Darts Masters: Finals Day Report!”

Perth Darts Masters: Quarter-Final Report!

Van Barneveld 10-8 Lewis.jpg
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

World number one Michael van Gerwen remains on course to win his second World Series title of the year as he edged past James Wade, whilst Raymond van Barneveld, Dave Chisnall and Peter Wright also made it through to the last four at the PCEC on Friday night.

However, Van Gerwen survived a major scare as he narrowly defeated James Wade 10-8. The Dutchman fired in eight maximums and averaged 99 to progress against ‘The Machine’ who battled tenaciously.

MvG began the contest strongly, hitting maximums in each of the opening two legs as he established an early 2-0 cushion. However, Wade fired back impressively, converting finishes of 130 and 97 en route to reeling off four consecutive legs- to lead 4-2.

Despite this, Van Gerwen responded in kind by winning four straight legs of his own, to seize command once again. Wade refused to relent however, restoring parity at 6-6, despite missing six darts at double in the twelfth leg.

Continue reading “Perth Darts Masters: Quarter-Final Report!”

World Series of Darts Rankings

World Series of Darts Finals.jpg

Gary Anderson leads the way in the World Series of Darts rankings following his second successive World Series triumph in last weekend’s Auckland Darts Masters. ‘The Flying Scotsman’ followed up his Dubai Darts Masters victory over Michael van Gerwen with an 11-7 victory over defending Auckland champion Adrian Lewis on Sunday.

This leaves Anderson on a maximum 24 points, which is double that of his nearest challengers. Michael van Gerwen and Adrian Lewis are both on 11 points, having appeared in one World Series final each this year. Despite averaging 107 against James Wade, Van Gerwen was beaten in the Auckland quarter-finals for the second straight year.

Lewis was thrashed 10-2 by Dave Chisnall in the Dubai Darts Masters, but Jackpot produced a much-improved showing in Auckland. Lewis beat Raymond van Barneveld in last year’s Auckland final, and he reached the final once again with victories over Stuart Leach, Phil Taylor and James Wade, before losing out to the world champion.

Phil Taylor, James Wade, Dave Chisnall and Raymond van Barneveld are all locked on eight points apiece following the opening two events of 2016. Taylor and Chisnall both secured five points from their run to the semi-finals in Dubai, however they exited in the last eight in New Zealand.

Continue reading “World Series of Darts Rankings”

Barney and Whitlock to face off in Perth!

Lawrence Lustig/PDC
Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Five-Time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld will meet Australia’s Number 1 Simon Whitlock in the ‘stand out’ tie of the first round of the Perth Darts Masters which begins on Friday.

The draw took place on Wednesday afternoon, as the eight seeded players were drawn against the eight Oceanic representatives, including Paul Nicholson and Kyle Anderson.

Continue reading “Barney and Whitlock to face off in Perth!”

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑