Van Barneveld seals his Grand Slam spot!

Van Barneveld GSOD.jpg

Raymond van Barneveld is set to make his twelfth consecutive Grand Slam of Darts appearance later this year after reaching the final of the 2018 Unibet Masters in Milton Keynes on Sunday evening. Continue reading “Van Barneveld seals his Grand Slam spot!”

2017 Unibet Masters: Day Two Report!


Newly crowned world champion Michael van Gerwen began the defence of his Unibet Masters title with a convincing win against Simon Whitlock, as Robert Thornton dumped out fifth seed James Wade in a deciding-leg thriller at the Arena MK in Milton Keynes on Saturday evening.

Michael van Gerwen began the defence of his Masters title with an impressive 10-6 victory against two-time world finalist Simon Whitlock. It was a real high-quality affair with both players landing ten maximums, but ‘Mighty Mike’ prevailed with a 105.42 average and a 32% checkout success rate, with Whitlock’s brave resistance ultimately ending in vain.

‘The Wizard’ made a rip-roaring start to the contest, firing in back-to-back maximums as he broke MvG’s throw in 11 darts. Nevertheless, the Dutchman’s response was typically emphatic. He levelled inside 12 darts after the pair traded maximums, before pegging D3 to complete the first hold of throw.

Both players again traded maximums as Van Gerwen dispatched D8 for his second straight leg before the world champion followed up his fourth maximum with an effortless 13-darter on tops for his fourth leg in succession.  Continue reading “2017 Unibet Masters: Day Two Report!”

2017 Unibet Masters: Draw & Schedule!

MvG Whitlock.jpg

Newly crowned world champion Michael van Gerwen will begin the defence of his Unibet Masters title against two-time world finalist Simon Whitlock, when the first major TV event on the 2017 PDC calendar gets underway at the Arena MK in Milton Keynes on Friday evening.

The fifth staging of the Unibet Masters will see the world’s top 16 players face off, with all the action being broadcast exclusively on ITV4 from January 27th- 29th. The prize money for this event totals £200,000, with £60,000 on offer to the winner.

Phil Taylor, who won the inaugural staging of this event back in 2013, will feature on the opening night of action in an enthralling tie against eleventh seed Michael Smith. Meanwhile, two-time world champion Gary Anderson takes on Benito van de Pas in a repeat of their pulsating last 16 clash at the recent William Hill World Championship.

Elsewhere, 2016 finalist Dave Chisnall locks horns with 2015 finalist and five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld in the opening match of the tournament, whilst the night concludes with a clash between third seed Peter Wright and Stoke star Ian White. Continue reading “2017 Unibet Masters: Draw & Schedule!”

Mesmerising MvG sets up Taylor clash!

MvG v Taylor
Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Michael van Gerwen breezed through to the semi-finals of the Unibet Masters with an emphatic 10-3 triumph over Michael Smith, to set up a semi-final tie against Phil Taylor at the Arena MK in Milton Keynes on Sunday evening.

‘The Green Machine’ averaged 105.8, hit four maximums and boasted a checkout ratio of 76% as he coasted past the world number eight, to keep his hopes of retaining his title well and truly alive.

The contest began in explosive fashion. After MvG claimed the opening leg, an astonishing four 180’s were hit in the second leg, but it was van Gerwen who claimed the spoils.

The Dutchman romped into a 3-0 lead after Smith failed to convert D18 for an 87 finish, before the world number one posted successive 124 finishes to move 5-0 ahead at the first interval, with an incredible average of over 116.

Continue reading “Mesmerising MvG sets up Taylor clash!”

Powered by

Up ↑